Monday, March 30, 2009

Running and Winning Workshop

On Saturday March 28 the League of Women Voters of Wake County held their second annual "Running and Winning" workshop at St. Marys School. This free workshop was designed to give young women in high school and college the opportunity to explore public service as a career. Nancy participated among an esteemed collection of North Carolina women who hold public office at the state and local level. Young women from various high schools met in small groups with elected officials to discuss their experiences running campaigns and holding public office (see list below). The conversations were dynamic and productive as young women used this unique opportunity to explore the meaning of civic leadership, community networking and public service. During small sessions Nancy enjoyed learning from Anne Hines of the Wake Forest Board of Commissioners about their structure of municipal government, as well as Christine Walczyk from the Wake County District Court about her experience running a strictly non-partisan campaign. Hopefully the dialogues provided some insight for aspiring leaders into the rewards of public service, as well as the realities of the time commitment often required for a cause you believe in. The workshop sought to give a transforming experience that allows young women to do things they haven’t thought they were capable of doing before.

The Running and Winning program was developed by the National League of Women Voters and adapted for local use.

The League of Women Voters of Wake County is a nonpartisan organization whose purpose is to encourage the active participation of all citizens in government, to work to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and to influence public policy through education and advocacy. Nancy has been a League of Women Voters member for 20 years.

Thanks to the following women for participating in the event and especially for their service to our community.
Mary-Ann Baldwin - Raleigh City Council
Gale Adcock - Cary Town Council
Cheri Beasley - NC Court of Appeals
Melanie Goodwin - NC General Assembly Representative
Jane Gray - Wake County District Court
Anne Hines - Wake Forest Board of Commissioners
Liz Johnson - Mayor ProTem of Morrisville
Vivian Jones - Mayor of Wake Forest
Elaine Marshall - [First Female!] NC Secretary of State
Deborah Ross - NC General Assembly Representative
Donna Stroud - NC Court of Appeals
Christine Walczyk - Wake County District Court (picture above)
Beth Wood - State Auditor
Maria F. Spaulding - Deputy Director NC Department Health & Human Services

No comments: